Miscellaneous Policies

First Level Honors

The First Level Honors designation is awarded to students who have reached the mid-point of completion of their honors requirements. First Level Honors is noted on the transcript and signifies that students are on track to graduate with Honors. In order to obtain the certificate, students must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Accumulate at least 15 Honors units before or during the semester the student completes the 60th unit at the University of Arizona
  • Achieve a 3.5 cumulative GPA upon becoming eligible for the certificate.
  • Student must have been admitted to the university as a non-transferring freshman, and joined the Honors College during their first or second year at UA.
  • Transfer credits from Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, or dual enrollment do not count toward the 60 units.
  • Student must have earned at least 30 units at the University of Arizona before receiving the award.

It is not necessary to earn First Level Honors in order to graduate with Honors.


Honors College scholarships applications are reviewed by various committees, comprised of honors faculty, staff, and students. Scholarship committees are guided by the principle of providing opportunities to the largest number of students each year. Towards this end, there are limits on the amount of funding that each individual can receive in a year and consideration given of other scholarships that the student receives.

1. $1500 cap on internship/ study abroad/ research grant funding per academic year (e.g. August 1st -August 1st of following year)

2. $1000 cap on legacy travel/ thesis/capstone / professional development funding per academic year.

Scholarship review committees will take into account any other scholarships a student is receiving that provide specific support for internships and study abroad experiences if students are applying for additional support in these categories. Current scholarships that provide such support include Associated Foundation, Flinn, and Southwestern Scholars.