Major-Specific Scholarships

Engineering students with the baja racer they built

These scholarships are tied specifically to your major in the colleges listed.

Award Benefactors

Erstad Honors Scholarship

Awards have been made for the 2020-2021 academic year. This award will reopen for 2021-2022.

The Erstad Honors Scholarship in Architecture was created by Honors College alumnus Andrew C. Erstad and his wife, Shannon. It supports merit scholarships for full-time undergraduate students enrolled in the Architecture program at the College of Architecture, Planning and Landscape Architecture and the W.A. Franke Honors College who maintain a minimum 3.5 GPA. This fund is established in honor of Charles Albanese, Dean Emeritus, College of Architecture, Planning, and Landscape Architecture. 

  • Award Amount: $1000
  • Open Date: 2/15/2022
  • Close Date: 4/1/2022

Robert P. and Patricia S. Gray

Gray Honors Scholarship

The Gray Honors Scholarship in Agriculture and Life Sciences was funded by generous gifts from Robert P. and Patricia S. Gray to support Franke Honors students studying in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Bob Gray was an English major and graduated with Honors in 1967. Following his time at the University of Arizona, he was awarded a Marshall Scholarship - and nationally competitive scholarship to study in the United Kingdom.

  • Eligibility: Recipients must be full-time students in the W.A. Franke Honors College and have at least one major in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences. Students must have junior or senior standing and maintain a 3.7 GPA, and must demonstrate outstanding academic achievement and potential for professional performance in their chosen field. This award is based on merit.
  • Award Amount: $1750
  • Open Date: January 15, 2022
  • Close Date: March 1, 2022
  • Contact: David Scott Allen, Special Advisor to the Dean at

William and Margeurite Hesketh

The William and Marguerite Hesketh Scholarship is for Franke Honors scholars from Arizona in the field of engineering.

In memory of her parents, Jennifer Hesketh Aviles created this endowed scholarship. Each year, three Honors students studying engineering are chosen for the Hesketh Scholarship, which is based on financial need and Arizona residency.

  • Eligibility: Financial Need, FASFA Required, Major in the College of Engineering, active W.A. Franke Honors student, Arizona Resident. Renewable if GPA criteria (3.50 or higher) is met.
  • Award Amount: $1200
  • Open Date: February 15, 2022
  • Close Date: April 1, 2022
  • Contact: David Scott Allen, Special Advisor to the Dean at